Poetry

A Mother to Love

img_0157I can’t imagine my life without you
Your unconditional love
Your heartfelt concern
Your selfless compassion
I consider myself no less than blessed
To be given such a precious gift in you
If it wasn’t for you,
I would’ve never known
What a truly honorable woman looks like
Had you not been
Mine and my children’s lives
Would never be
Had it not been for you
I would not be the woman I am today
I wouldn’t know that it is okay to make mistakes
It’s what you learn from them that matters
If it wasn’t for you
I would never know that every obstacle that I face
Will always be for my good
Or that it too, shall pass
Without you, I would’ve never known
Just what kind of woman I could be
That the world’s possibilities are endless to me
All of the sacrifices you made
All of the tears you’ve shed
All of the prayers you pleaded
All of the wisdom you’ve shared
You are truly a woman greatly to be praised!
For all of these things and so much more
I am forever indebted to you
I love you
My mother, my hero, my friend…

2 thoughts on “A Mother to Love

Leave a Reply

