Blog

NutriBullet: Sweet nectar of the Gods

So my parents got me a NutriBullet a while back. Yes, this will be that kind of post…

I’ve been dealing with sickness for over a year and half now and I guess they got tired of seeing me falling apart or maybe just got tired hearing about it. Nonetheless they got me a NutriBullet because my body is not holding onto nutrition any other way. I have been using it each day, sometimes twice a day if I cannot bring myself to eat anything, for eight days now and all I can say is WOW. This little contraption of loveliness is something to be awed. If I could craft a bronze pedestal to sit it on, I would. Okay maybe not that far, but you get where I’m going with this.

Now I’m no stranger to nutrition. I’m not one of those people who eats a carrot and is amazed that it’s actually healthy for them and they feel so good afterwards. A few years ago I started on a journey of researching what was essential to the body, what each essential vitamin and mineral did and aided with and what sources that it could be extracted from. I started juicing fruits and vegetables, incorporating specific spices andessential-oils herbs known for their anti-inflammatory qualities and taking essential oil extracts.

It was a tireless journey that all started with my then infant having allergies to each baby formula that we tried her on and us being faced with the decision of putting her on prescription formula that would cost $128 per small can. I began researching what specifically she was having an allergy to and through much trial and error as well as a lot of money I was able to narrow her allergies down to a specific, unnatural ingredient found in baby formula and pretty much every food on the shelves today.

I took that information and did more research to find the one baby formula brand that did not use these ingredient in its formula and ordered it online. On day one of her being switched to it, her painful stomach cramps, gas and diarrhea ended abruptly. I was shocked. Months of no sleep and a baby that was in pain during and after each meal, and screaming at the top of her lungs because of it and now it all stopped! She never had another stomach issue again.

When it came time to put her on whole milk, I went back to the drawing board and researched my hind end off to find what she could have that would not start that sickness back up for her. The solution, raw cow’s milk. Please don’t say “Ewww,” just because you don’t understand that raw doesn’t come synonymous with there is dirt, hair and nastiness in it. I found a dairy farm that sold processed (thoroughly cleaned) yet unpasteurized (NOT boiled to death) raw cow’s milk from GMO seed-free, grass-fed, free to graze, cows that had been treated with zero steroids, zero pharmaceutical antibiotics and zero extra hormones like estrogen. ‘Unpasteurized’ means the milk has not been boiled to oblivion, thus killing off all of the healthy, good-for-you enzymes that milk contains. When we drink pasteurized milk from the grocery store, we are drinking something that is now dead, and has almost no nutritional value to it, except for fat. I started my daughter on the raw cow’s milk and boom, no allergies, no illnesses, no reactions and as a bonus any seasonal allergies that she had, disappeared! Perfection.

Once it was time to start her on baby food, I researched what kind of food she would need at each stage of her development and decided that I would try my hand at making her baby food, myself. To say that I was a little timid to begin this process would be an understatement. Let’s be real, we would much rather feed our kids what professional food industry people make and blame it on them when our child isn’t healthy than to take the bull by the horns, man-up and be responsible for our kids health, ourselves. But at the end of the day, as parents, we are responsible for what we allow to be part of our children’s diets, regardless of who made and manufactured it. Whether we bought it from the store or we made it ourselves, we are still responsible if it isn’t any good for them.

It was a daunting task to begin, making baby food, however when you consider the alternative — a miserable and restless baby — the cost versus the reward of a good night’s sleep and contented baby, there’s no comparison. That task of making her food led me to purchasing a pricey juicer and a blender/extractor. Meanwhile I was having my own stomach issues that were landing me in the hospital because though I was making sure my baby was eating as healthy as humanly possible, I was not. So I started researching again and began taking raw apple cider vinegar as well as Calcium Bentonite Clay. Both of which instantly started me on a path to healing my stomach and intestines, where modern medicine was seemingly only making it worse.

A couple of years ago, we hit a low point in our finances and I could no longer afford the high dollar cost of buying bookoos of produce just to get a little pitcher of juice out of them. So I put it on the back burner once I finally got my daughter acclimated to what would work for her dietary needs.

In August of 2015, I started becoming very sick and by February 2016, we found out that my gallbladder was no longer functioning, my intestines were severely scarred from years of inflammation to the point where the villi that allows your intestines to absorb nutrients from food, was gone. As a side note, this is also where your immune system lives, so I no longer had a properly functioning immune system either. No explanation of why or how from the doctors, just that at some point, (my guess would be years back in the ER), I had significant inflammation of my entire intestinal track and nothing was done for it. So I lost my gallbladder and had to figure out how to live being depleted of nutrition and subsequent energy for the rest of my life, or learn a way to better absorb nutrients.

In walks the NutriBullet. Like I mentioned, I’ve been using it for only eight days and with the very first NutriBlast that I made from my own choice of fruits and vegetables, and some added spices and seeds, I felt instant energy. Like I could climb a mountain… Or at least make the trek to see a mountain. Each day that I continue to make and drink a blast, I feel better. Now, because of my broken down GI system, this is a constant upkeep for me. It’s something that I have to do every day in order to feel somewhat normal that day, but for someone who wakes up sick and stays that way all day long — to not be sick and completely depleted for most of the day is something special. When your body is continuing to throw out its waste products and yet not absorbing any nutrients from the foods that you eat, no matter how healthy they are, it leaves you exhausted. The kind of fatigue that just moving a muscle is tiring and sometimes incredibly painful.

Last week I talked about having bought a ton of produce to start using this NutriBullet. Being in my previous juicing mode – it turns out that I bought entirely too much produce. This single serving contraption only takes a small amount versus a juicer that requires 10 carrots, 4 oranges and a whole lot more to make one small pitcher of juice. I sat down and cleaned and chopped all of these fruits and veggies to go into my smoothie without actually looking at the size of the canister that it was all supposed to fit in. I wound up only needing 1/4th of a carrot, a small handful of kale, two strawberries, three blueberries, blackberries and raspberries, one slice of an apple, and the list goes on depending on what kind of smoothie I was making. I was standing in my kitchen thinking, how the hell am I going to use all of this produce before it goes bad? Back to the store. This time I bought freezer bags.

When I came home, I cleaned, cut up and portioned out pre-made bags of produce to freeze for each smoothie. It took me 3 hours to finish doing this. When I was finally done, I had four gallon-sized freezer bags full of pre-portioned produce for my Nutriblasts. Even though I spent a good amount of time preparing, it has been very helpful in the morning to just grab a bag and throw it in the bullet and get to drinking. I drink a Nutriblast each morning, before I have anything else.nutriblast It is the first thing that I ingest for the day, each day. A couple of hours later, I am starving. Let me tell you what this means for me. I haven’t had a real appetite in over a year. I ate once a day if I could stomach it and that was usually dinner. Now, I am hungry for each meal. I am not only hungry, but I am hungry for healthy and balanced ingredients. The thought of even eating a burger or something with no nutritional value to it, makes me physically nauseous. I’m not saying that for dramatic effect. My body is literally telling me what to eat by making me hungry for only certain foods.

I started giving my three year old a small cup of my smoothies first thing each morning, and two days ago I walked into the living room where she and my husband were sitting and there my three year old was, eating a giant carrot. Her dad said that she asked for a whole carrot and wouldn’t stop asking for one. She was as happy as a clam. So this is not in my imagination that these NutriBlasts start your body on the path to craving healthy things, because it’s happening with my three year old as well.

I haven’t been sick, at all for eight days. I usually got sick the second that I ingested anything for the day, even if it was only a sip of juice or coffee and continued getting sick another 8-20 times within one day. Let me say this again, I HAVEN’T GOTTEN SICK IN 8 DAYS. This has been my life for a year and a half and for the first time I am starting to feel like I did before I became ill. Drinking one of these NutriBlasts is like having an IV of solely vitamins and minerals going straight into my blood. I feel instantly alert and clear-headed, energized and yes, even in less pain because the nutrients from the produce I am drinking are active and alive. They hit my blood cells like water to a plant and I can feel it.

I cannot sing the praises of how much this NutriBullet is changing my life. No, it is not just a smoothie blender. When you learn about how blenders work you will understand why the expensive ones like the Ninja and so on, are even on the market and so much more expensive than the alternatives. Most blenders pulverize your food, the speed and heat from the blades are literally killing the healthy enzymes from whatever you are blending. But with the expensive “extractors” they have worked out the speed, placement and heat of the blades in order to allow the nutrients to be extracted instead of demolished. The same goes for juicers. Depending on what kind of juicer it is, will depend on how alive the nutrients in that juice that you are getting from it will be.

If you are struggling health wise in any way, or if you just want to get on the road to a healthy diet — This is a really fantastic start. I know I sound like an infomercial, but when I find something that I truly see substantial results with, I have to share it with others. I am beginning to feel better each day, finally. Less than a month ago I was really scared at what my health would look like if I continued to be malnourished and couldn’t find a viable way to absorb any nutrients. Being a mother of two girls, my biggest fear is not being around for them. So in that, I can say this thing has become a life-saver!

6 thoughts on “NutriBullet: Sweet nectar of the Gods

  1. I’ve been using it for 7 days. And last night I slept throughout the entire night without waking up. A full 7 hours!! It’s probably been 20 years since that happened last. My goal is to lower my cholesterol. Looking forward to getting my next blood results.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Update! My cholesterol went down 34 points in one month! I am so happy this is really working fast. I did the NutriBullet every morning, took a fish oil pill, and stayed away from cheese, eggs, and butter. I’ve now given myself permission to have Sunday as a cheat day. LOL.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

